Province appoints joint board to govern Cumberland, Parkland Colleges

EAST CENTRAL — The members of a merged board of governors that will oversee both Cumberland College and Parkland College has been announced.

Appointed to the board by the provincial government are Corinna Stevenson of Melfort, Lori Kidney of Tisdale, Marcel Head of Shoal Lake, Raymond Sass of Yorkton, Brian Hicke of Melville and Wendy Becenko of Kamsack.

article continues below

The two colleges used to have two separate boards of governors. Then Tom Weegar resigned as president of Cumberland College in March 2018 and Dwayne Reeve resigned as president of Parkland College in July 2018.

The provincial government didn’t allow the two colleges to hire new presidents until they did some work through a task force that was made up of representatives of all of the province’s colleges. After discussion with the task force and the ministry of advanced education, the two colleges decided to share a single board of governors and a single president on a trial basis of up to two years.

Both colleges will remain separate.

Stevenson and Sass have been named as co-chairs of the new board.

The colleges said a joint steering committee is nearing the end of its search for a new joint president position. They expect to have the successful candidate in place by June 30.

© Copyright Humboldt Journal


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Humboldt Journal welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus

Community Event Calendar

Find out what's happening in your community and submit your own local events.